Accessibility links

TAQA, Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment at TheLightBulb Apprenticeships

Course description

This is a professional qualification which replaces previous NVQ Assessor Awards A1 & A2 and D Units 32 & 33 and is part of the Training, Assessment and Quality Assurance Suite (6317).

This award will provide people who carry out assessment roles in their organisation with the opportunity to develop and improve their practice as well as achieving a professional qualification for the role. The TAQA Award has been developed for those working in accredited learning, non-accredited learning, the NQF and the QCF.

The TAQA qualifications consist of a mix of modules – some are competence-based and some knowledge based.

Course content

To achieve this award the learner must achieve the following two units:

Unit 301: Understanding the principles and practices of assessment (3 credits)
This unit assesses the learner’s knowledge of the principles and practices of assessment in a learning and development context. Evidence for this unit could take the form of:
· Written statements or answers by the learner
· Oral statements or answers by the learner
· Discussions between the learner and their own assessor
· Assignments
· Projects

Unit 302: Assess Occupational Competence in the Work Environment (6 credits)
This unit assesses the learner’s competence in assessing the occupational competence of others, primary evidence for the learning outcomes and assessment criteria must come from the learner assessing two real candidates on two occasions in a real work environment against standards/criteria that are approved by the organisation. These standards/criteria may include national occupational standards, components of qualifications or in-house standards.

Each assessment must be a substantial but realistic and manageable piece of learners work.

The unit covers seven assessment methods in total. The learner must show that they have covered a minimum of three of these assessment methods in their real practice. The learner is allowed, of necessary, to provide other forms of evidence – for example through a statement or by discussion – to show how they would use the other assessment methods.

Entry requirements

The potential learner must be qualified in the subject they intend to assess by virtue of holding an appropriate professional qualification or having been employed in/have experience of the role. The decision as to what constitutes an appropriate qualification and/or experience is at the discretion of TheLightBulb and subsequently any employer.

Financial information

At the end of the programme participants will be able to:
- Understand the principles and requirements of assessment
- Understand different types of assessment method
- Understand how to plan assessment
- Understand how to involve learners and others in assessment
- Understand how to make assessment decisions
- Understand quality assurance of the assessment process
- Understand how to manage information relating to assessment
- Understand the legal and good practice requirements in relation to assessment
- Be able to plan the assessment of occupational competence
- Be able to make assessment decisions about occupational competence
- Be able to provide required information following the assessment of occupational competence
- Be able to maintain legal and good practice requirements when assessing occupational competence Upon ACHIEVEMENT of the award, delegates will be fully qualified NVQ Assessors able to assess within their area of occupational competence.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact TheLightBulb Apprenticeships directly.

Last updated date: 14 August 2015
Provider logo

Key information