Accessibility links

Health & Social Care BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate - delivery at Shenley Academy at The Oaks Sixth Form

Course description

BTEC National in Health & Social Care Extended Certificate

Course content

360 Guided Learning Hours = Equivalence to 1 A Level = 60 Credits Year 12 – Cover Units to achieve Level 3 Certificate Equivalence of 1 AS • Unit 1 Developing Effective Communication in Health and Social Care • Unit 2 Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health and Social Care • Unit 3 Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care 360 Guided Learning Hours = Equivalence to 1 A Level = 60 Credits Year 13 – Possible units (3 to be studied) • Unit 4 Development Through the Life Stages • Unit 5 Anatomy & Physiology for Health and Social Care • Unit 20 Promoting Health Education • Unit 21 Nutrition for Health and Social Care Unit 48 Exploring Personal Development in Health and Social Care (50 hours work experience)

Entry requirements

BTEC or GCSE Health & Social Care is desirable but not essential. BTEC should be a Level 2 pass profile. GCSE English Language Grade C and above.


All units chosen are equally weighted – 10 credits

Future opportunities

UCAS points equivalent to 1 A level Wide range of progression opportunities into further study, training or relevant employment Useful for careers in Health, Social Care, Early Years, Teaching, Social Worker, Nursing Degree, BTEC Higher National Diplomas or NVQs in Social Work, Childhood Studies, Nursing, Teaching.

Further information

This course is delivered at Shenley Academy. Modular approach Different learning styles including group work, seminars, visits 50 hours Work Experience depending on final units chosen Good communication skills; Ability to research and synthesis information; Good skills of evaluation; Independence when learning; Teamwork; Creative thinking; Self-management; Problem solving.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Oaks Sixth Form directly.

Last updated date: 24 November 2015
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September


  • More information
    • The Oaks Sixth Form is an innovative Post-16 consortium established to provide an exceptional breadth of choice for our students.

      The school sixth form centres in The Oaks Sixth Form partnership are:

      • Bournville School
      • Dame Elizabeth Cadbury Technology College
      • Harborne Academy
      • Hillcrest School
      • Lordswood Sixth Form Centre
      • St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School
      • Shenley Academy

      If you are interested in applying for any of the courses listed, please make your application through UCAS Progress directly to the delivery centre stated in the course title.