Accessibility links

Public Services (BTEC Level 3 Diploma) at Wath Comprehensive School: A Language College

Course description

This BTEC qualification is designed to provide highly specialist, work-related qualification in a vocational sector. It gives learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare them for employment.

The BTEC Level 3 Certificate is broadly equivalent to one GCE AS Level.

The BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma offers greater flexibility and a choice of emphasis through the optional units and it is broadly equivalent to one GCE A Level.

The BTEC Level 3 Diploma goes further still and is equivalent in value to two GCE A Levels.

If you are aiming to achieve the Subsidiary Diploma you will study 3 or 4 units in Y12 (at this point you will have gained enough credit for the Certificate) and a further 2 units in Y13.  The units are:

Year 12

  1. Government, Policies and the Public Services - This unit enables learners to develop knowledge and understanding of the UK government policies and the democratic election process. It also enables them to demonstrate the process of developing government policies and how these policies impact on the public services.
  2. Physical preparation, Health and Lifestyle for the Public Services - The aim of this unit is to enable learners to be able to provide advice on lifestyle improvement and plan a health-related fitness programme based on an understanding of the fitness requirements and major body systems in preparation for entry into the public services.
  3. Crime and its effects on society - The aim of this unit is to give learners a knowledge of current UK crime and disorder legislation and the sentences and orders available to the criminal justice agencies. Learners will also develop knowledge of the effects of criminal behaviour on communities and an understanding of how society works to reduce crime, disorder and antisocial behaviour and to support the victims and witnesses of crime.
  4. Work Experience - All Sixth Form students at this school arrange and complete a week of work experience towards the end of Year 12.  For those taking a Public Services course this experience contributes to the qualification.

Year 13

  1. Citizenship, Diversity and the Public Services - The aim of this unit is to provide learners with the knowledge, skills, attitudes and values neede to become thoughtful and informed citizens and public service employees.  The unit is designed to develop an awareness of rights and responsibilities and respect for different religious, ethnic and national groups within UK society.
  2. Leadership and Teamwork in the Public Services - The aim of this unit is to enable learners to develop a knowledge of leadership styles and an understanding of teams and teamwork activities within the public services.  Learners will also gain the skills needed to communicate with - and lead - teams.

If you are amiming to achieve the Diploma you will study all the units listed above in Year 12, followed in Year 13 by:

  1. Understanding Discipline in the Public Services - The aim of this unit is to enable learners to develop an understanding of discipline and demonstrate self-discipline in the uniformed public services.  Learners will develop a knowledge of conformity, obedience and the complex nature of authority.  They will also explore the concept through theory research and practical activities.
  2. Understanding the Impact of War, Conflict and Terrorism - The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the impact of war and conflict on UK public services and how the public services deal with terrorism both within the UK and on the international scene.
  3. Responding to Emergency Incidents - The aim of this unit is to give the learners an awareness and understanding of the roles and responsibilities of emergency services when responding to emergency incidents. Learners will also be given the opportunity to develop knowledge of how the public services respond to incidents and why they must pay attention to health and safety.  Scene preservation and specialist units will also be investigated in this unit.
  4. Police Power in the Public Services - This unit enables learners to develop an understanding of lawful arrests and detention and the regulations with regard to searching people and their premises.  It also covers the powers the police have to grant bail.
  5. Aspects of the Legal System and the Law-making Process - The aim of this unit is to enable learners to gain knowledge and understanding of the legal system and the criminal trial process in England and Wales.  Learners will do this by looking at the hierarchy of the court system, the personnel involved in the courts and the criminal trial process.
  6. Social Welfare Services - The aim of this unit is to enable learners to know the scope of social welfare in the UK and the need for social welfare.  Learners will gain an understanding of how social welfare services are managed to meet the needs of vulnerable groups in society.
  7. Personnel and Human Resources - The aim of this unit is to give the learners an insight into the ways in which employees can help to achieve organisational objectives.  The unit introduces learners to various aspects of employment law.

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 23 November 2015

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years

Contact details