Accessibility links

Health & Social Care BTEC Extended Certificate (Single) Level 3 at The Abbey School

Course description

The Extended Certificate is for learners who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in health and social care studies.

Course content

The qualification consists of four units across the two years, three of which are mandatory and two externally assessed.

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development (external)

Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care (external)

Unit 5. Meeting Individual Health and Support Needs (internal)

1 optional internally assessed unit

Entry requirements

5 9-4 GCSEs.


Internal Assessment takes the form of two coursework units, one of which is mandatory and one of which is optional.

External Assessment consists of two exams.

Future opportunities

Students completing this Certificate can progress to University or College to study BTEC Higher Qualifications (Level 4/5). Due to the vocational nature of this qualification, at the end of year 13 students will also be equipped for some careers or apprenticeships within the health and social care sector.

Further information

For further information please contact Mrs S Murphy.

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 24 September 2018
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years