Accessibility links

Information and Communication Technology Cambridge TEC at Carlton le Willows Academy

Course description

Year 12 Mandatory Units

1. Communication and Employability Skills for IT - This unit will equip students to use a variety of communication skills, and provide them with an understanding of the skills an employer wants and how to adapt the message to their audience.

2. Information Systems - This unit demonstrates the types of information held in the workplace, how it can be used to gain a competitive edge and how it must comply with legislation.

3. Computer Games Development - This unit looks at the computer games industry and does include some hands on gaming - more importantly it gives students the opportunity to design and create their own computer games.

Year 13 - To obtain this award you must have successfully completed the units in Year 12. Another three units are chosen from the list below. At the time of writing these units have not been decided yet and will be chosen in discussion with students at the beginning of the course.

Entry requirements

5 C grades (maximum 1 BTEC equivalents). Must include C grade in English Language and Mathematics GCSE.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Carlton le Willows Academy directly.

Last updated date: 18 June 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 Years