Accessibility links

International Baccalaureate Diploma at St Mary Magdelene Academy

Course description

The International Baccalaureate is a two year course during which a total of six subjects are studied: three at Standard Level and three at Higher Level. You are not expected to be an expert in everything – just to have a wide range of interests. Subjects are divided in to six groups as illustrated below: English, Modern Languages, Social Sciences, Experimental Sciences, Mathematics and the Arts with electives. You select one subject from each group. It does not matter if you have not already taken a foreign language GCSE – you can learn one ab initio – from scratch! The electives in group 6 enable you to select a package suited to your strengths and future study ambitions. For example a linguist can choose a second language from Group 6, a medic or natural scientist could choose a second science from Group 6. In addition everyone will follow the Core components: Creativity Action Service (CAS), Theory of Knowledge (ToK), and Extended Essay. The Diploma you receive recognises your all round abilities, demonstrating the range and breadth of your knowledge. It is highly regarded and recognised by Universities in the UK and worldwide.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact St Mary Magdelene Academy directly.

Last updated date: 20 May 2014
Provider logo

Key information