Accessibility links

IT BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate at The Gryphon School

Course description

This qualification is designed for those students interested in studying ICT systems in today’s society. The qualification takes into consideration the use of ICT systems to manage information and data and some elements of hardware. There is a broad range of study which covers many ICT related topics including database systems, social media and website design. The units of study are outlined below, including details of assessment.

Entry requirements

  • ICT – C
  • English – C
  • Maths – C


Unit 1 – Information Technology Systems – use of computer hardware and software; use of data and information; choosing an IT system; emerging technologies; the use of online systems; data protection and security. 2 HOUR WRITTEN EXAM.

Unit 2 – Creating systems to manage information – database systems to manage information; relational database systems; manipulation of data; normalisation; database design; SQL language and creation of a system. 10 HOUR CONTROLLED ASSIGNMENT.

Unit 3 – Using Social Media in Business – social media website and their impact / advantages; risks and issues; review of current social media platforms in business; creating a social media account and website. Coursework assignment.

Unit 6 – Website Development – understand principles of website development; design a website; develop a website for a client; HTML coding; CSS; JavaScript; website analysis and evaluation. Coursework assignment.

Financial information

There are no additional costs.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Gryphon School directly.

Last updated date: 26 September 2016
Provider logo

Key information