Accessibility links

Biology A Level at Brompton Academy

Course description


The A level is studied over two years. The A level is made up of six mandatory units: Development of Practical Skills in Biology; Foundations in Biology; Exchange and Transport; Biodiversity, Evolution and Disease; Communication, Homeostasis and Energy; and Genetics, Evolution and Ecosystems.

Course content



Entry requirements

Students need to have achieved 5 A* - C GCSE to include Grade B in GCSE Science and Additional Science or in GCSE Biology, Grade 6 in English and Maths.


Grade A* – E awarded. The mandatory units are externally assessed by three examinations: Biological Processes (01), Biological Diversity (02) and Unified Biology (03).  Examinations 01 and 02 are two hours and fifteen minutes in length and are worth 37% of the final A level grade.  Examination 03 is ninety minutes in length and is worth 26% of the final A level grade.

Financial information


Future opportunities

Completion of the A level qualification will give between 16 and 56 UCAS points, to be used to gain entry onto a degree course or entry into the workplace.

Further information

For further inforamtion please contact Brompton Academy on 01634 852341.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Brompton Academy directly.

Last updated date: 17 January 2017
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 Year