Accessibility links

Children's Play, Learning and Development BTEC Level 3 Diploma at Marriotts School

Course description

The Edexcel BTEC Level 3 National Award in Children’s Play, Learning and Development consists of five core units, and a choice from four optional specialist units that provide for a combined total of 360 guided learning hours (GLH) for the complete qualification.

Entry requirements

To be considered for entry onto this course, the entry requirements of a grade C or above from English Language GCSE would be needed. It would be beneficial for students to have studied Health and Social care at Level 2 BTEC or GCSE.


There will be a range of tasks that will be assessed throughout the course from group presentations to independent essays. You will be given assignment briefs to complete in a set period of time; however, these will only be given out when you are ready for the assignment. These assignments are marked formatively at the end of the assignment period, meaning that drafts will not be accepted or marked. Out of the five core units there is one externally assessed task which will be a written response or outcome.

Future opportunities

People who have studied Children’s Play, Learning and Development have gone on to careers in the following areas: nanny, early years teacher, social work, youth work, paediatric nurse, guidance counsellor.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Marriotts School directly.

Last updated date: 21 February 2017
Provider logo

Key information