Accessibility links

Information Technology (Cambridge Technical Certificate Level 3) at Prince Henry's Grammar School, Otley

Course description

In the modern world it is unlikely that you will find any profession in which the

ability to use IT to a high standard is not necessary. Therefore, a practical IT

course is probably one of the most useful qualifications to hold in a digital age.

An understanding of cyber security, mobile technologies and systems analysis

opens the door to a wide range of career opportunities.

Course content

You will take five units to achieve this qualification. There are three mandatory units that are externally assessed (examinations). These are: ‘the Fundamentals of IT’, ‘Global information’ and ‘Cyber security’. The first two units provide you with an insight into the IT sector as you investigate the pace of technological change, IT infrastructure, and the flow of information on a global scale and important legal and security considerations. The third unit reflects an important development in the sector around information security and requires you to consider how data should be protected and the response of the IT sector to emerging threats such as cyber terrorism.

The other two units come from the optional list of units, and are coursework-based units that are fun, challenging and highly interactive. The ‘Systems analysis and design’ unit lets you develop an understanding of how to analyse and design systems that are supported by emerging technologies, such as virtual and augmented reality, mobile technologies and the ‘Internet of Everything’ – IT technicians assist in the development of such systems and you will see how this happens.

The other coursework unit: ‘Internet of Everything’ is about the use of the Internet and how it is impacting people and society. You will learn about the Internet of Everything and how it is used. You will carry out a feasibility study for an idea. You will pitch your idea to potential stakeholders and use their feedback to revise your proposal.



The course carries UCAS points in exactly the same way as a traditional A Level.

Three mandatory units:

  • Unit 1 – Fundamentals of IT (examined unit)
  • Unit 2 – Global Information (examined unit)
  • Unit 3 – Cyber Security (examined unit)

Two selected options:

  • Unit 4 – Systems analysis and design (interactive coursework)
  • Unit 5 – Internet of everything (interactive coursework)

All units have the same weighting of 20% each.

More detail pertaining to content can be found at:

Entry requirements

You do not need to have taken ICT at GCSE level to take this course. However, students who have taken ICT or Computer Science should have gained a grade 5. Students should preferably have gained grade 4 in GCSE English. The course is a challenging and demanding one and a solid work ethic is paramount.

Future opportunities

This course provides a strong base for progression to university, apprenticeships or work and is recognised for UCAS tariff points.

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 01 November 2017
Provider logo

Key information