Accessibility links

Health and Social Care BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate at The Holy Cross School

Course description

Year 12

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development (written exam)

This covers the physical, intellectual, emotional and social development across the human lifespan and the factors affecting development and the effects of ageing. You will learn about a number of theories and models to explain and interpret behaviour through the human lifespan.

In this unit, you will explore the impact of both predictable and unpredictable life events, and recognise how they impact on individuals. You will study the interaction between the physical and psychological factors of the ageing process, and how this affects confidence and self-esteem, which in turn may determine how individuals will view their remaining years.


Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (Assignment) Learners focus on the principles and practicalities that underpin meeting individuals’ care and support needs, which are the foundation of all the care disciplines.  This unit will be useful if you are intending to pursue a career in social care or healthcare, for instance as a social worker or health visitors, practice nurse or occupational therapist.


Year 13

Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care (written exam)

Learners explore what it is like to work in the health and social care sector, including the roles and responsibilities of workers and organisations. When

working for an organisation in this sector, you will have important responsibilities that you need to understand and carry out. These include maintaining the safety of and safeguarding of individuals. You will need to understand how you will be accountable both to these individuals and the regulatory bodies that represent people who work in the health and social care sector. It is necessary for you to understand how your work will be monitored when you carry out a specific role such as nurse or social worker.


Unit 12: Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (Assignment)

While working in health and social care, you may care for a full range of individuals who have additional needs. Individuals with these additional needs have a right to receive the best quality care and support. This unit aims to give you specialist knowledge that can be crucial to ensuring that those with additional needs meet their full potential.

Entry requirements

Essential - GCSE Grade 5 or above in English Language and 4 in Maths, and GCSE Grade 4:4 or above in Combined Science or GCSE Grade 4 in Triple Science

Recommended - GCSE Grade 6 in Health & Social Care​

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Holy Cross School directly.

Last updated date: 11 October 2017

Key information