Accessibility links

ICT & Computing BTEC Level 3 Diploma at The Urswick School - A Church of England Secondary School

Course description

The BTEC qualifications are QCF level 3 qualifications designed to provide highly specialist, work-related qualifications in a range of vocational sectors. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment. These qualifications accredit the achievement for courses and programmes of study for full-time or part-time learners in schools, colleges and other training provider organisations. The qualifications provide employment opportunities as well as progression opportunities to higher education, degree and professional development programmes within the same or related areas of study, within universities and other institutions.

The BTEC qualifications in this specification provide much of the underpinning knowledge and understanding for the National Occupational Standards for the sector, where these are appropriate. They are supported by the relevant Sector Skills Councils (SSCs) and/or Standards Setting Bodies (SSBs). Certain BTEC qualifications are recognised as Technical Certificates and form part of the Apprenticeship Framework. They attract UCAS points that equate to similar-sized general qualifications within education institutions within the UK.


Course content

Mandatory Units:

  • Communication and Employability Skills for IT
  • Computer Systems
  • Information Systems

Optional Units *

  • Impact of the Use of IT on Business Systems
  • Managing Networks
  • Software Design and Development Computer Networks
  • Communication Technologies
  • Event Driven Programming
  • Database Design
  • Developing Computer Games
  • Object Oriented Programming
  • Website Production
  • Installing and Upgrading Software
  • Digital Graphics
  • Computer Animation
  • Spreadsheet Modeling

* Number of optional units studied by each student will depend on the sixth form path they are on.


Entry requirements

5 GCSEs in different subjects at grade C or higher with grade C or higher in GCSE ICT or Merit/Distinction in BTEC ICT.

Further information

The BTEC qualifications in this specification have been developed in the IT sector to:

  • Give education and training for IT employees
  • Give IT employees opportunities to achieve a nationally recognised level 3 vocationally-specific qualification
  • Give full-time learners the opportunity to enter employment in the IT sector or to progress to vocational
  • Qualifications such as the Edexcel BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing and Systems Development
  • Give learners the opportunity to develop a range of skills and techniques, personal skills and attributes essential for successful performance in working life.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Urswick School - A Church of England Secondary School directly.

Last updated date: 20 December 2016

Key information