Accessibility links

Information Technology (Btec National Certificate) Level 3 at Trinity School

Course description

This qualification is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses.

Course content

Equivalent in size to one A Level, the course consists of 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are externally set and assessed. As Unit 1 (a mandatory and externally assessed unit) is double weighed,mandatory content is 83% and external assessment comprises over 50% of the course.

Entry requirements

  • You should have an interest in IT
  • You may well be considering a career related to IT
  • You enjoy analytical and technical challenges


Year 1 (Year 12) students will work on the first two mandatory units, both of which are externally assessed. (These are both tasks set by the Examination Board and completed in controlled conditions)

Unit 1 Information Technology Systems

Unit 2 Creating Systems to manage information


Year 2 (Year 13) students will complete the third mandatory unit (this is internally assessed):

Unit 3 Using Social Media in Business

In addition they will compete a fourth unit covering either

Data Modelling or Website Design.

(Full details of all units are available on the website

Future opportunities

This course will support developing a career in an IT environment or further studies in a related area.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Trinity School directly.

Last updated date: 07 November 2016
Provider logo

Key information