Accessibility links

GCSE: Religious Studies at Ashby School

Course description

All students at Ashby School follow the GCSE Religious Studies course. Students investigate religious and other responses to the moral issues and fundamental questions of life. In doing so, students understand more about religion and their own beliefs and values. This GCSE full course consists of four units (Philosophy 1 and 2 and Ethics 1 and 2), each of which contains three topics. Students study eight of the following 12 topics: 1. Belief about Deity 2. Religious and Spiritual Experience 3. The End of Life 4. Good and Evil 5. Religion, Reason and Revelation 6. Religion and Science 7. Religion and Human Relationships 8. Religion and Medical Ethics 9. Religion, Poverty and Wealth 10. Religion, Peace and Justice 11. Religion and Equality 12. Religion and the Media The assessment consists of four separate, one hour exams (one in January of Year 10, one in the summer of Year 10, and two in the summer of Year 11.)

Future opportunities

Students can take this course to prepare for advanced level courses such as A/AS Level Religious Studies. Other students choose to go straight into employment and do further training or part time study with the support of an employer. A qualification in Religious Studies is a valuable qualification widely recognised in Higher and Further Education as well as in professional training courses. A qualification at this level is useful to most A level courses because of the interpretation and evaluation skills involved in Religious Studies. RS prepares students for a wide range of careers, such as law, medicine, social work and teaching.

Further information

To find out more about this qualification, contact us, ask your Connexions Personal Adviser or school/college careers staff.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Ashby School directly.

Last updated date: 25 November 2015
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years