Accessibility links

Health & Social Care - BTEC Level 3 at Dinnington High School

Course description

This subject can be taken as a single, double or triple option:

Certificate - equivalent to one A level.

Diploma - equivalent to two A levels

Extended Diploma - equivalent to three A levels

The course is suited to those who have a genuine interest in the welfare of others. It is particularly suited to those who wish to embark on a career in health or social care and work within settings such as a hospital, care home or special educational needs sector.

Course content

The BTEC Extended diploma offers a specialist qualification that focuses on particular aspects of employment within the appropriate vocational sector. Amongst other units of work you will study, Human Lifespan Development, Working in Health and Social Care and Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care.

Entry requirements

You should have achieved a minimum of 5 GCSE’s (Grades A*-C including English language, Maths and Science) (or equivalent).

There is no need to have studied either Health and Social Care or Child care at level 2.


The qualification can be taken as a single (58% external exam), double (46% external exam) or triple option (42% external exam).

You will be assessed by using a range of methods including the following:

Unit 1 – Human Lifespan Development – 1 ½ hour exam (All courses)

Unit 2 – Working in Health and Social Care – 1 ½ hour exam (All courses)

Unit 3 – Anatomy and Physiology for Health and Social Care – 1 ½ hour exam (Extended Diploma)

Unit 4 – Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care – A supervised set task (Diploma)

There are further mandatory units of work which will be completed as set coursework such as Caring for someone with Dementia, Diet and Nutrition and Public Health.

Future opportunities

Degree/Foundation Degree in areas such as child, adult, mental health or learning disabilities nursing, midwifery, education and child development. NVQ (Level 3/4)

Health and Social Care and Early Years - usually studied alongside relevant practical experience or employment.

Modern Apprenticeships.

Further information

You may have the option to become a Dementia Friend or Champion and/or work towards additional recognised qualifications such as First Aid.

Work Experience: Students opting for the Certificate (1 A Level) do not require any work experience although this would be beneficial. Students opting for the Diploma (2 A Levels) require a minimum of 50 hours in 3 different settings and students opting for the Extended Diploma (3 A Levels) require a minimum of 100 hours in 3 different settings. Regularly used work experience settings include, Sheffield Teaching Hospital, Rotherham District General Hospital, Universal Embrace Holistic Therapies, Willow SEN School, Woodlands Care Home, Dinnington Primary School and Anston Brook Primary School.



Learners will have the chance to support community based projects which will vary year to year. Previous visits include, Rotherham District General Hospital, The Thackray Medical Museum in Leeds and Sheffield Hallam University.

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 04 December 2016
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 Years

Contact details


  • More information
    • We are located by the side of a local college and on a major bus route, from Worksop and Rotherham.  Buses also run regularly from Sheffield.