Accessibility links

ICT BTEC Level 3 at Lawnswood School

Course description

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Foundation Diploma in Information Technology is intended as an Applied General qualification covering 510 GLH and equivalent in size to one and a half A Levels. It is designed for learners who are interested in exposure to a range of IT topics that will enhance their progression to higher education in this sector, a complementary sector or a contrasting sector and ultimately lead to employment. Learners will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as the relationship between hardware and software that form an IT system, managing and processing data to support business, using IT to communicate and share information and computational thinking skills and the principles of designing and developing computer programs.

Course content

The objective of this qualification is to give learners the opportunity to develop their knowledge and skills in information technology systems, systems management and social media in business and programming. This will enable learners to progress to further study in the IT sector or other sectors.

Learners will study four mandatory units:

 Unit 1: Information Technology Systems

 Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information

 Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

 Unit 4: Programming.

This qualification includes a choice of optional units, including:

 Unit 5: Data Modelling

 Unit 6: Website Development

 Unit 7: Mobile Apps Development

 Unit 8: Computer Games Development.

Entry requirements

C+ in GCSE English or Maths, A Level 2 qualification in a related subject

Financial information

Whilst no equipment is required to participate in this course it is useful to invest in a usb memory stick to allow for easy transportation of documents between school and home.

Future opportunities

When taken alongside other Level 3 qualifications such as A Levels, this qualification gives learners the opportunity to progress to higher education to study a BTEC Higher National in information technology, a degree in an information technology discipline or a degree where information technology related skills and knowledge may be advantageous, such as business studies.

This qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements for many relevant courses. As the content is equivalent in size to one and a half A Levels, higher education representatives have confirmed that it is appropriate to allow learners to choose their optional units from a wide range so that they can explore their own choice of areas for further study. The qualification supports entry to, for example:

 HNC in Interactive Media

 FdSC in Business Computing

 HND in Engineering

 BSc (Hons) in Information Management for Business

Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Foundation Diploma in Information Technology - Final Specification - version 1.0

- Pre-publication document – August 2015 © Pearson Education Limited 2015


 BA (Hons) in Accounting and Finance

 BSc (Hons) in Information Management for Business.

Some university courses may require the achievement of specific units and learners should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes with specific higher education providers.

The qualification, when studied with other Level 3 qualifications, is aimed at progression to higher education but also enables learners to develop knowledge and skills needed for entry-level roles related to IT including vocational apprenticeship roles and trainee/entry-level roles in software development, web/content development, mobile apps design, games design, programming and IT/business analysis support.

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 06 November 2015
Provider logo

Key information