Accessibility links

Health & Social Care (BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate) at Wath Comprehensive School: A Language College

Course description

You will have two options when selecting a BTEC National Health and Social Care course:

  • BTEC Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care – 4 units over 6 lessons a week (worth 1 A Level);
  • BTEC Diploma in Health and Social Care – 8 units over 12 lessons a week (worth 2 A Levels).

Both courses last for two years and are assessed through a mixture of examination, synoptic questions and coursework.

Course content

Mandatory Units

There are three mandatory units which are assessed externally that both courses must cover:

  • Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development - Assessed by an examination at the end of Year 12.
  • Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care - Assessed by an examination at the end of Year 13.
  • Unit 5: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs - Assessed through coursework.

There are an additional three mandatory units for the Diploma course:

  • Unit 4 - Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care - This is a mandatory synoptic unit.  A task is set and marked externally and completed under supervised conditions.  You will be given a choice of two articles (Part A) six weeks before a supervised assessment period in order to carry out research.  The supervised assessment period (Part B) is a maximum of 3 hours.
  • Unit 7: Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care - Assessed through coursework.
  • Unit 8: Promoting Public Health - Assessed through coursework.

Optional Units

There is one optional unit that is studied in both the Extended Certificate and Diploma courses:

  • Unit 14 Physiological Disorders - Assessed through coursework.

There is an additional optional unit for the Diploma course:

  • Unit 6: Work Experience in Health and Social Care - Assessed through coursework.


You will have to meet certain criteria in your written tasks to achieve a Pass grade.  (This is equivalent to grade E at A Level).  If you are able to meet more demanding criteria then you may achieve a Merit grade (equivalent to grade C at A Level).  If you are able to meet the most demanding criteria you may achieve a Distinction grade (equivalent to grade A at A Level).

Future opportunities

The qualification is intended to carry UCAS points and is recognised by HE providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements for many relevant courses.  Students are able to progress into work in the sector through degree programmes in nursing, midwifery, social work, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and pharmacy, for example. There are more than 300 distinct career paths in this sector.

Further information

Please contact the school for further information.

How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 17 October 2016

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years

Contact details