Accessibility links

Health and Social Care BTEC Level 3 at Central Foundation Girls' School

Course description

The BTEC Level 3 National in Health and Social Care suite is a range of qualifications designed to provide innovative vocational learning for learners wanting to progress to higher education, an apprenticeship or employment. BTECs are accepted by over 150 UK universities either on their own or in combination with A levels.

Course content

Health and social care practitioners need to develop a knowledge base for working with people in every stage of their lives, and they need to know how their own experiences relate to health and wellbeing. Learners will understand what it is like to work in the health and social care sector. You will research the responsibilities that workers need to understand and carry out. These include safeguarding individuals with health and social care needs, making sure that personal information is handled properly and preventing discrimination. You will also learn about working with people with specific needs, including ill health, learning disabilities, physical and sensory disabilities and the needs of people who occupy different age categories.

Entry requirements

5 good GCSEs with 4 in En and Ma PLUS


You will be completing a mixture of units, some that are assessed externally via a written exam, one that is assessed via a controlled assessment and some that are assessed internally via written assignments. The course is demanding and learners need to have good literacy skills as the ability to work independently.

Future opportunities

The level 3 BTEC in Health and Social Care is valued by both employers and universities and on successful completion of the course you can progress into employment or on to a degree in Nursing, Midwifery, Early Childhood Studies or Primary Teaching.

Further information

Depending on the size of qualification you choose to study there are a variety of options within the suite of qualifications. We deliver three sizes of BTEC Level 3 National in Health and Social Care qualification, these are:

The Extended Certificate which is equivalent to 1 A level and consists of 4 units, two of which are externally assessed written exams.

The Diploma which is equivalent to 2 A levels and consists of 8 units, two exam units and one controlled assessment unit.

The Extended Diploma which is equivalent to 3 A levels and consists of 13 units, 3 written exam units, 1 controlled assessment unit and the rest are assessed via written assignments. The Extended Diploma students also complete 100 hours of work experience.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Central Foundation Girls' School directly.

Last updated date: 02 February 2017
Provider logo

Key information