Accessibility links

Information Technology BTEC Subsidiary Level 3 Diploma at Haverstock School

Course description

This is a six unit course; you will be studying three units each academic year. You will gain an understanding of information technology and practices used within this industry. The qualification consists of two core units plus four optional units. It is equivalent to one A level. BTEC IT is a highly specialist, work related qualification. It gives you the knowledge, understanding and skills needed to prepare you for employment as well as higher education.

Course content

Unit 1 – Comunication and employability skills
Unit 2 – Computer systems

Optional units such as: software design and development, e-commerce and database design.

Entry requirements

6+ GCSEs at A*–C including English and maths. BTEC level 2 extended certificate at grade merit or above


Throughout the two years of this programme you will produce assignments and projects which will include coursework as well as presentations. This is a portfolio based qualification and units will be assessed through written coursework and practical activities which you will be graded on.

Future opportunities

This qualification provides progression opportunities to higher education in order to study for degrees or professional development programmes with IT related areas.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Haverstock School directly.

Last updated date: 15 June 2016
Provider logo

Key information