Accessibility links

ICT Cambridge Technical Level 3 at North Bromsgrove High School

Course description

Cambridge Technicals are vocational qualifications designed with the workplace in mind. It’s about educating people in the knowledge and skills required for employment and for the community as a whole. It’s also about developing the behaviours and attributes needed to progress and succeed in education and in work, linked to ICT.

Course content

Extended Certificate in IT

Unit 1: Fundamentals of IT
A sound understanding of IT technologies and practices is essential for IT professionals. This unit will create a solid foundation in the fundamentals of hardware, networks, software, the ethical use of computers and how businesses use IT.

Unit 2: Global information
This purpose of this unit is to demonstrate the uses of information in the public domain, globally, in the cloud and across the Internet, by individuals and organisations.

Unit 3: Cyber security
The need for secure digital systems is more crucial than ever before. This unit has been designed to enable you to gain knowledge and understanding of the range of threats, vulnerabilities and risks that impact on both individuals and organisations.

2 Optional Units:
Project Management Product Development Systems Analysis and Design Internet of Everything

Entry requirements

- Standard entry requirements.
- Grade C or above if ICT has been studied at GCSE level.
- Merit or above if ICT has been studied at BTEC level.


50% Examination
50% Project Based Learning

Future opportunities

- analyst programmers
- chief information officers
- communications trade workers
- computer network professionals
- ICT business and systems analysts
- ICT managers
- games design
- media and broadcasting
- test analysts
- web developers

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact North Bromsgrove High School directly.

Last updated date: 23 February 2017

Key information