Accessibility links

Music A Level at Okehampton College

Course description

Component 1: Performing

Non-exam assessment: externally assessed by a visiting examiner A performance consisting of a minimum of three pieces. At least one of these pieces must be as a soloist. The other pieces may be either as a soloist or as part of an ensemble or a combination of both. One piece must reflect the musical characteristics of one area of study. At least one other piece must reflect the musical characteristics of one other, different area of study.

Component 2: Composing

Non-exam assessment: externally assessed Two compositions, one of which must reflect the musical techniques and conventions associated with the Western Classical Tradition and be in response to a brief. Learners will have a choice of four set briefs, released during the first week of September in the academic year in which the assessment is to be taken. The second composition is a free composition

Component 3: Appraising

Written examination: 2 hours 15 minutes 40% of qualification

Three areas of study:

Area of study A: The Western Classical Tradition (The Development of the Symphony 1750-1900) which includes two set works. Choose one set work for detailed analysis and the other for general study. Symphony No. 104 in D major, 'London': Haydn Symphony No. 4 in A major, 'Italian': Mendelssohn

A choice of one area of study from:

Area of study B: Rock and Pop
Area of study C: Musical Theatre
Area of study D: Jazz

Entry requirements

Students will have to have a GCSE in Music with at least a B grade in order to study this course.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Okehampton College directly.

Last updated date: 16 August 2016

Key information