Accessibility links

ICT Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma at Okehampton College

Course description

The Cambridge Technicals provide opportunities to develop skills demanded by employers. These qualifications and units are in the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF). They have been structured to enable learners to gain qualifications at their own pace and build on their achievements. The Cambridge Technical qualification offers you the opportunity of a programme of study that will:
- prepare for further learning or training
- develop essential knowledge, transferable skills and personal skills in a subject area that interests them with the aim of enhancing their employability
- move into different areas of employment
- develop knowledge and skills as part of their Continual Professional Development
- achieve a nationally recognised vocational qualification.

There are no formal written exam components to this course. All assessment is carried out through practical assignments.

Course content

Areas to be covered in Year 12

There are two mandatory units to be completed and one optional unit. The mandatory units are:

Communication and employability skills for IT
Information systems
The third module can be selected from a wide range of ICT assignments.

Areas to be covered in Year 13

There are three modules that must be covered; however, there is a choice available. You can pursue a creative route such as animation and graphics, a technical route such as network systems and repair or a business route. This provides a wide range of opportunities to explore.

Entry requirements

A minimum of 5 A*-D GCSE’s, three of which should be Mathematics, English and Science or Computer Science.

Future opportunities

There are many employment opportunities for individuals with a Diploma in ICT. The qualification addresses specific skills required by employers and will equip you well for the world of work.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Okehampton College directly.

Last updated date: 16 August 2016

Key information