Accessibility links

ICT Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma at The Thetford Academy

Course description

GENERAL AIMS: The Cambridge Technical qualifications

offer opportunities to develop skills demanded by

employers. This is one of the most popular vocational

qualifications subjects offered by OCR. ICT is at the heart

of everyday life and has an ever-ncreasing role to play

at home, work and in our leisure time, from computer

graphics and control systems to communications and

problem-solving. Students will acquire a range of ICT

skills which will be harnessed to build and maintain

an eportfolio to showcase their achievements.

COURSE OUTLINE: The course is split evenly

over six units with each unit contributing

equally towards the overall grade.

n Unit 1: Communication and employability skills

for IT - This unit will equip students to use a variety

of communication skills, and provide them with an

understanding of the skills an employer wants and

how to adapt the message to their audience.

n Unit 2: Information systems - This unit

demonstrates the types of information held in the

workplace, how it can be used to gain a competitive

edge and how it must comply with legislation.

n Unit 3: E-commerce - Most businesses also

operate on the internet; this unit gives students

the opportunity to create an e-commerce strategy

and the knowledge that underpins it.

n Unit 4: Project planning with IT - Creating project

plans, undertaking them and evaluating their

success are the aims of this unit, which provides

students with a valuable transferable skill.

n Unit 5: Website production - A website can make

or break a business; students will design, create and

test a functioning website, including understanding

architecture, design and security issues.

n Unit 6: Spreadsheet modelling - Spreadsheets are

an important tool in business; students will learn

how to create a complex spreadsheet and use it

to highlight information and solve problems.

NATURE OF STUDY: Units of study are chosen with

students’ and teachers’ strengths in mind to give a

balanced, interesting and motivational selection,

including Project based work, written assignments,

reports, presentations and the use of specialist software.

Entry requirements

Sixth Form Entry

Year 12

A Levels

5 A*-C at GCSE, including a C in English + Mathematics,

with a B grade in the chosen subject areas for A Level.

BTEC Level 3

4 A*-C, preferably including a C in English + Mathematics.

BTEC Level 2

2 D grades.

Year 13

Each student’s work is reviewed at the end of

Year 12 and progress into Year 13 is dependent on

satisfactory performance in the examinations.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Thetford Academy directly.

Last updated date: 18 July 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 1-2 Years