Accessibility links

Health & Social Care BTEC Level 3 Extended Certificate at The Westgate School

Course description

All students must study the 3 mandatory units within the qualification.

Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development (90GLH), Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care (120GLH) Unit 6: Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs (90GLH)

*Unit 1 and 2 include a written exam

In addition to the above Units, students will complete a further optional unit to gain the required guided learning hours. 

Entry requirements

GCSE English – Grade C;nd Science English – Grade C

To continue to Year 2 – Minimum Pass grade must be achieved in all assignments 


Unit 1 and 2 are assessed through a written examination that is set and marked by Edexcel. All other units are internally assessed and verified within the BTEC qualification and are subject to external moderation. Students will complete a series of assignments that are submitted in a variety of formats to their unit teacher for marking and feedback throughout their studies. Each unit within the qualification has specified assessment and grading criteria which are to be used for grading purposes. A summative unit grade can be awarded at Pass (E grade), Merit (C grade) or Distinction (A grade). Any single referred assignment will result in failure of the qualification. 

Future opportunities

The study of these qualifications can lead into a wide variety of career opportunities and higher education courses. All of the BTEC qualifications that we offer prepare students to continue their studies at higher educational establishments. In addition, many of our students choose to transfer their aqcuired skills directly into the workplace in a variety of health and social care related careers.  

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Westgate School directly.

Last updated date: 23 September 2016

Key information