Accessibility links

BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health & Social Care - Level 3 at Abraham Darby Academy

Course description


The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide an introduction to the sector. It is for learners who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector as part of a balanced study programme. It is equivalent in size to 0.5 A Levels.  The qualification supports access to a range of higher education courses possibly, but not exclusively, in health and social care, if taken alongside further Level 3 qualifications.

Course content

All the content of the qualification is mandatory and is based on the person-centred approach and values needed to work in the health and social care sector. The mandatory units focus on:


•      Human Lifespan Development

•      Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs.

Entry requirements

You will need at least five 9-4 grades including English, Mathematics and Science.  Prior study of the subject isn’t essential.  These are guidelines only and every student’s application will be treated on an individual basis.

Future opportunities

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Certificate in Health and Social Care is generally taken alongside other qualifications as part of a 2-year programme of learning. This will enable learners to progress to a degree programme chosen from a range of programmes in the health and social care sector. The qualification is intended to carry UCAS points and is recognised by higher education institutions as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses. It can be taken alongside, for example:

•     a BTEC National Foundation Diploma in Children’s Play, Learning and Development, which could lead to a Foundation Degree in Early Years Playwork and Education

•     an A Level in Biology and further Level 3 qualifications, which could lead to a BSc (Hons) in Nursing

•     a BTEC National Extended Diploma in Applied Science, which could lead to a BSc (Hons) in Biomedical Science.

•     Learners should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes with specific higher education providers.

Further information

In the BTEC National units there are opportunities during the teaching and learning phase to give learners practice in developing employability skills. Where employability skills are referred to in this specification, we are generally referring to skills in the following three main categories:

•     cognitive and problem-solving skills: use critical thinking, approach non-routine

•     problems applying expert and creative solutions, use systems and technology

•     intrapersonal skills: communicating, working collaboratively, negotiating and

•     influencing, self-presentation

•     interpersonal skills: self-management, adaptability and resilience, self-monitoring and development.

There are also specific requirements in some units for assessment of these skills where relevant, for example where learners are required to undertake real or simulated activities.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Abraham Darby Academy directly.

Last updated date: 14 September 2017
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 Years