Accessibility links

Business BTEC Level 3 at Birchwood High School

Course description

The Edexcel Level 3 BTEC National Diploma in Business consists of six mandatory units, plus a selection of two additional optional units to be completed over two years.

The mandatory units are

Unit 1: Exploring Business
Unit 2: Developing a Marking Campaign
Unit 3: Personal and Business Finance
Unit 4: Managing an Event
Unit 5: Internal Business
Unit 6: Principles of Management

There are a wide range of optional units, of which eight have to be completed to gain the diploma. These are related to Accounting, Marketing, Human Resources, Management, Law, Administration, Retail, Logistics and there is also a range of general units, actual optional units to be studied will be chosen according to the needs and abilities of the students.

Course content

Selected mandatory and all optional units.

Programme team creates assignment brief and students carry out set tasks, creating evidence to support a work-related scenario.

Unit 2:
Developing a Marketing Campaign
Pre-released material includes information about a business for research. Learners will need to apply their knowledge, ideas and skills to plan a marketing campaign, linking its success to the impact on the business.

Unit 3:
Personal and Business Finance
The written test will cover the purpose and importance of personal and business finance, including the skills and knowledge needed to understand, analyse and prepare financial information.

Unit 6:
Principles of Management
Pre-released task-based assessment.
Students must synthesise and evaluate information from a business scenario and relate it to how management and leadership practices can create a more effective business and workforce.

Unit 7:
Business Decision Making
Unseen case study or business scenario.
Learners will draw from learning from previous mandatory units to an unseen case study scenario using a range of given information to create a business plan.

Entry requirements

TPS 36.


Assessment is criterion referenced, based on the achievement of specified learning outcomes. Each unit has specified criteria which are used for grading. A summative unit grade can be awarded at pass, merit or distinction, distinction star.

The Diploma is equivalent to 2 A Levels

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Birchwood High School directly.

Last updated date: 03 May 2018
Provider logo

Key information