Accessibility links

Information Technology BTEC Level 3 at Birchwood High School

Course description

The course is designed to give students the technical knowledge, skills and understanding they need to use computer systems competently and to equip students with some of the skills they will need in the workplace or in further education or training. It will promote teaching and learning through work-related contexts, provide a range of teaching, learning and assessment styles to motivate students to achieve their full potential. The course consists of 3 mandatory units, plus a selection of one additional optional units to be completed over two years.

Course content

The mandatory units are:
Unit 1: Information Technology Systems
Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information
Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

The Optional units are:
Unit 5: Data Modelling
Unit 6: Website Development

Unit 2: Creating Systems to Man-age Information

A task set and marked by Pearson and completed under supervised conditions.
The supervised assessment period is ten hours arranged over a number of sessions in a 1 week period timetabled by Pearson.
Completed using a computer and submitted electronically.
66 marks.

Dec/Jan and May/June.
First assessment: May/June 2017

Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology

360 GLH (475 TQT)
Equivalent to 1 A level.
4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external.
Mandatory content (83%)
External assessment (58%)
This qualification is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information, alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT

Entry requirements

TPS 36.


Assessment is criterion referenced, based on the achievement of specified learning outcomes. Each unit has specified criteria which are to be used for grading. A summative unit grade can be awarded at pass, merit, distinction or distinction star. The
Extended Certificate is equivalent to 1 A Level.

Future opportunities

The BTEC has been developed in the Information Technology industry and is appropriate for career qualifications in this very wide employment area. It gives students the opportunity to gain a nationally recognised vocational specific qualification to enter employment in the Information Technology industry or to progress to higher education vocational qualifications such as the Edexcel Levels 4 - 7 BTEC Higher National in Information Technology or Computing.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Birchwood High School directly.

Last updated date: 03 May 2018
Provider logo

Key information