Accessibility links

Children's Learning and Development Level 3 BTEC National Certificate at Lincoln Christ's Hospital School

Course description

The BTEC National Certificate in Children’s Learning and Development is a two year course. Students are introduced to a range of early year settings and primary schools. Work experience is an essential part of this course. All placements take place in local nurseries, infant or primary schools with children up to the age of eight.


The course consists of five compulsory units and one specialist unit.

Unit 1 Child Development

Unit 2 Play in Early Years Settings

Unit 3 Meeting Children’s Physical Development, Physical Care & Health Needs

Unit 4 Health and Safety Practice in Early Years Settings

Unit 5 Collaboration with Parents, Colleagues and Other Professionals in Early Years

Unit 6 Supporting Children’s Communication and Language

Unit 7 Supporting Children’s Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Unit 8 Child Protection

Unit 9 Observation, Assessment and Planning for Play and Development

Unit 10 Diversity, Equality and Inclusion in the Early Years

Unit 11 Reflecting on Own Early Years Practice

Entry requirements

Five GCSE grades A* - C or BTEC First Diploma in Child Care (Merit)

Future opportunities

This course is intended for students who want a direct route into employment as a child care worker or to move on to university to study courses that may lead to working with children in a professional context.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Lincoln Christ's Hospital School directly.

Last updated date: 15 July 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years