Accessibility links

ICT BTEC level 3 at Pensby High School

Course description

The Edexcel Advanced Subsidiary Diploma consists of two core units plus four specialist units. The qualification is equivalent to 1 GCE A level.

It provides vocational emphasis for learners and can be used to extend a programme of study at level 3 and to focus on particular aspects of employment in the ICT sector.

Course content

You will complete the following four units;

  • Unit 1: Communication and Employability Skills for IT
  • Unit 2: Computer Systems
  • Unit 8: E-commerce

In addition, you will complete two units from the following list;

  • Unit 28: Website Production
  • Unit 30: Digital Graphics
  • Unit 31: Computer Animation

Entry requirements

At least a Grade C in ICT at GCSE level or an equivalent qualification such as DIDA or BTEC level 2 plus four other GCSEs (or equivalent) graded C or above.


Each unit will be assessed through the production of a portfolio of evidence consisting of one or more assignments.

These will be assessed and moderated by your teachers and externally verified by Edexcel.

Future opportunities

On successful completion of your BTEC there may be opportunities for employment within the computer games, product development, technical support and telecommunications industries.

As the BTEC has the equivalence of a GCE A Level, it is also possible to progress into higher education using the UCAS points ascribed to the award.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Pensby High School directly.

Last updated date: 24 September 2015
Provider logo

Key information