Accessibility links

Health and Social Care - Level 3 BTEC National Diploma (Pearson) at Allerton Grange School

Course description

The BTEC National Diploma in Health and Social Care has the equivalence of two GCE A Levels. This qualification will give you an understanding of the underpinning knowledge and practical skills to provide you with the common core principles of health and social care enabling progression to employment or higher level education. The course is ideal for those who are unsure of specific potential career pathways, as it provides a broader understanding of the sector, with the possibility to specialise in areas such as caring for children or the elderly.

Course content

There are six mandatory core units:

Human Lifespan Development

Working in Health and Social Care

Enquiries into Current Research in Health and Social Care

Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs

Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care

Promoting Public Health


In addition you will study two of these specialist units:

Work Experience in Health and Social Care

Sociological Perspectives

Psychological Perspectives

Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs

Physiological Disorders and their Care

Nutritional Health

Entry requirements

Applications are considered on an individual basis but subject areas have their own entry requirements. As a guide you will normally be expected to have achieved a minimum of the following:

Level 3 courses - a good range of GCSEs from grade 4 - 9 including a grade 4 in English and Maths or the equivalent at BTEC level.

Level 2 courses - 2 grade 3s at GCSE


Specific entry requirements for this course are as follows:

You should have a broad education including five GCSEs, or equivalent (graded 4 or above in different subjects) including at least Level 2 Pass for BTEC First in Health and Social Care if you studied this course. In addition, the interest and potential to succeed in achieving the qualification. You should be interested in people and be prepared to do a lot of research on your own


Three mandatory units are externally assessed through a written examination or task and will be marked by Pearson. The other five units will be assessed through coursework and marked by your teacher. There will usually be 2 or 3 assignment tasks for each unit. Each unit will be graded as Pass, Merit or Distinction. 

Financial information

There are no costs associated with this course

Future opportunities

A BTEC Level 3 National Diploma in Health and Social Care is designed to provide progression to a university degree as it gives you UCAS points for university applications. With the international recognition of BTEC courses such as this, you can progress straight into employment. If successful there are a variety of potential careers that you can explore, all of which will benefit from your studies, for example: care worker, nursery nurse, nurses, health care assistant, or occupational therapists.


How to apply

You can apply for this course through UCAS Progress. Add this course to your favourites so you can start making an application.

Last updated date: 11 October 2017
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: Two Years

Contact details