Accessibility links

CAMBRIDGE TECHNICAL LEVEL 3 in ICT at St Thomas Aquinas Catholic School

Course description

The Cambridge Technical in ICT is a vocational qualification that is designed to give students a work-focused alternative to A-Levels.

The course is designed to give students the opportunity to demonstrate and develop the practical application of knowledge and understanding in areas that appeal. This will enable students to develop research skills as they work both independently and with colleagues, to progress through the qualifications. The assessments for the qualification are task-based, so students will not need to take exams to achieve their Cambridge Technical qualification.

Course content

The course is almost entirely continual assessment and for the award of Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma students must complete 6 units of work over the 2 years. There are 2 mandatory units and 4 optional units (chosen by subject teacher): 

Unit 1 – Communication and employability skills for IT 

Unit 2 – Information systems 

Unit 10 - Developing computer games 

Unit 14 - Computer animation 

Unit 17 – Interactive media authoring 

Unit 27 – Digital graphics

Future opportunities

The course is designed to provide an all-round introduction to the information and communication industry. There are three main pathways open to you once you complete this course: employment and the chance to put into practice the skills you have learnt, further education such as a higher level qualification or higher education where you may decide on a degree course at university.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact St Thomas Aquinas Catholic School directly.

Last updated date: 11 November 2015
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September