Accessibility links

IT Cambridge Technicals Level 3 Extended Certificate at Preston Manor School

Course description

The Cambridge Technicals in IT aims to develop students’ knowledge and understanding of the principles of IT and Global Information Systems. Students will gain an insight into the IT sector as they investigate the pace of technological change, IT infrastructure, and the flow of information on a global scale and the importance of legal and security considerations.

The Cambridge Technicals provide students with the solution they need in order to give them the options within their study programme, at the same time as making sure they have a recognised qualification de‐ signed to take them to university or apprenticeship.

Course content

Unit 1 ‐ Fundamentals of IT ‐ Mandatory

A sound understanding of IT technologies and practices is essential for IT professionals. Information learnt in this unit will create a solid foundation in the fundamentals of hardware, networks, software, the ethical use of computers and how businesses use IT.

Unit 2 – Global Information ‐ Mandatory

The purpose of this unit is to demonstrate the uses of information in the public domain, globally, in the cloud and across the Internet, by individuals and organisations. Student will discover that good manage‐ ment of both data and information is essential and that it can give any organisation a competitive edge. This unit will provide you with a greater understanding of how organisations use information sources both internally and externally and the types of information you will encounter.

Unit 3 – Cyber Security ‐ Mandatory

The need for secure digital systems is more crucial than ever before. We rely on computerised systems and networks to collect, process, store and transfer vast amounts of data and to control critical systems such as water and power supplies. This unit has been designed to enable you to gain knowledge and understanding of the range of threats, vulnerabilities and risks that impact on both individuals and organisations. You will learn about the solutions that can be used to prevent or deal with cyber security incidents resulting from these challenges. You will be able to apply your knowledge and understanding of cyber security issues and solutions by reviewing and making recommendations for ways to best protect digital systems and information.

You will complete two optional units from the list below:

Unit 8 ‐ Project Management

This unit will provide you with the opportunity to understand and use various project planning skills and techniques, thereby enabling you to become more effective in the workplace.

Unit 9 ‐ Product Development

The purpose of this unit is to prepare you to undertake product development activities. You will learn about different product design methodologies and the role of the product development life cycle. In ad‐ dition, you will discover the factors that influence product developments.

Unit 10 ‐ Business Computing

Businesses and organisations are driven by the information that they gather, process and provide. This involves computers, networks, and databases. In this unit you will gain an understanding of how infor‐ mation technology and computer‐based systems facilitate the needs of business and how businesses use information. You will learn about the skills and attributes needed by people working in data analysis and gain practical experience of editing and manipulating a variety of different forms of information before applying these skills to solve a specific problem.

Unit 17 ‐ Internet of Everything

This unit is about the use of the Internet and how it is impacting people and society. You will learn about the Internet of Everything and how it is used. Using your knowledge you’ll carry out a feasibility study for a potential idea. You will pitch your idea to potential stakeholders and use their feedback to revise your proposal.

Entry requirements

At least 5 GCSEs at grade 5, including English Language and Mathematics. Students do not need to have taken ICT or Computer Science at GCSE.


Mandatory Units:

  • Unit 1 – Externally assessed
  • Unit 2 ‐ Externally assessed
  • Unit 3 – Externally assessed

Optional Units

  • Unit 8 – Internally assessed
  • Unit 9 – Internally assessed
  • Unit 11 – Internally assessed
  • Unit 17 – Internally assessed

Future opportunities

Cambridge Technicals provide a strong base for progression to university, apprenticeships or work and are recognised for UCAS tariff points.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Preston Manor School directly.

Last updated date: 21 November 2017

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years