Accessibility links

Computer Systems and Network Support BTEC National Diploma Level 3 at York College

Course description

With the rapid growth of cloud technology and the growing pressure on cyber-security this qualification offers students an opportunity to develop foundation skills in networking and supporting modern, networked computer technologies. This qualification is equivalent in size to two A Levels and can be supplemented with an additional A Level or equivalent.

Course content

You will study ten specialists units, six of these are mandatory and four are chosen by us. The mandatory units are:
• Principles of Computer Science 
• Planning and Management of Computing Projects 
• Building Computer Systems 
• IT Systems Security 
• Managing and Supporting Systems
• Virtualisation
• Programmable Devices and Controllers
• Computer Forensics
• Network Operating Systems
• Communication Technologies

Entry requirements

Generally 4 or 5 GCSEs at grade C or above, including Maths at grade B (grade 5) and English (grade 4), or a Merit in any relevant Level 2 course (Extended Certificate or above), subject to references.

Future opportunities

This Level 3 qualification provides entry into higher education with a view to progressing to roles in the Networking and Systems Support. Subjects that some students have gone on to study are Cyber Networking, Security and Forensics, Ethical Hacking, Cloud Computing, Web application development, Mobile Apps and Software Development. This qualification also offers a direct route into apprenticeships or employment working in user support, hardware or software technicians or data processing.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact York College directly.

Last updated date: 19 October 2016
Provider logo

Key information