Accessibility links

ICT BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma at Vyners School

Course description

The BTEC Level 3 Diploma in IT is primarily a Technical Level qualification, equivalent to
ONE A level.

It covers many aspects of the sector and, as well as an unendorsed pathway there are three endorsed pathways available in Business, Networking and Systems Support and Software Development.

Course content

There are two mandatory units that you will have to cover:

  1. Communication and Employability Skills for IT
  2. Computer Systems

Each unit is worth 10 Credits.

The BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in IT is a 120-credit qualification.

The other 90 credits are made up from 9 modules chosen from a selection of more than 40 different units.

These units cover a range of IT aspects including:

  • system security
  • e-commerce
  • networking
  • system analysis
  • project planning
  • database design
  • computer games
  • human computer interaction
  • digital graphics, computer animation
  • spreadsheet modelling
  • multimedia design

Entry requirements



The BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in IT is 100% coursework.

You will be given tasks to complete in order to satisfy a client or business’s IT needs, similar to the GCSE ICT coursework but on a larger scale.

Future opportunities

This qualification supports progression into further education, training or employment.

Appropriate further education might be: BTEC Higher National in Computing; BTEC Foundation Degree in Computing; a degree in computing, ICT or related fields; entry into employment.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Vyners School directly.

Last updated date: 11 May 2016
Provider logo

Key information