Accessibility links

Computing BTEC Level 3 Diploma at The Petchey Academy

Course description

The BTEC Computing course is a vocation 2 year course worth the equivalent of 3 A Levels. The course is comprised of 13 units of which 7 are mandatory and 4 are external.

Each external assessment for a BTEC National is linked to a specific unit. All of the units developed for external assessment are of 90 or 120 GLH to allow students to demonstrate breadth and depth of achievement. Students will be awarded a Pass, Merit or Distinction for each internal unit completed depending on criteria they have achieved. The styles of external assessment used for qualifications in the computing suite are:

Two examination units – all students will take the same assessment at the same time, normally with a written outcome. Students will also take a controlled assessment unit during a defined window and demonstrate understanding through completion of a vocational task.

Entry requirements

5 GCSEs A*-C, including English and Maths

Future opportunities

A BTEC in Computing can open up many pathways. Students have progressed on to apprenticeships in the Computing Industry as well as progressing to top universities to study Computer Science and non-Computing related courses. Students can also embark on careers in related subject areas. As the course is so varied students will be able to begin careers in an array of computing related careers ranging from Programming to software design.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Petchey Academy directly.

Last updated date: 04 April 2017
Provider logo

Key information