Accessibility links

Science BTEC First Extended Certificate (Level 2) at Havering Sixth Form College

Course description

The BTEC course is split into 2 qualifications:

BTEC Principles of Applied Science

BTEC Application of Science

Both qualifications consists of four units, 3 of which are assessed by assignments and the fourth is assessed by an external exam worth 25% of the overall grade. The overall grade will be a Pass, Merit or Distinction and each qualification is considered the equivalent of one GCSE.

Course content

The units contributing to this BTEC award are: 

BTEC Principles of Applied Science 

  • Unit 1 Principles of Science (external exam)
  • Unit 2 Chemistry and Our Earth, Unit 3 Energy and Our Universe
  • Unit 4 Biology and Our Environment

BTEC Application of Science

  • Unit 5 Application of Chemical Substances
  • Unit 6 Application of Physical Science
  • Unit 7 Health Applications of Life Science
  • Unit 8 Scientific Skills (external exam)

Entry requirements

Four GCSEs at grade D or above, D Grade English, Maths and Science GCSEs.


75% Coursework, 25% External assessment.

Financial information

Compulsory Cost

£10.50 - You will be required to buy your own Revision Guides and Workbooks for the examined units, which you can purchase at a reduced price through the College. The total cost currently is as shown including delivery.

Future opportunities

BTECs are transferable qualifications. A Merit or Distinction grade at BTEC First level would allow you to progress later to a BTEC National programme or on to any other level 3 qualification.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Havering Sixth Form College directly.

Last updated date: 09 September 2016

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 1 year