Accessibility links

Health & Social Care National Certificate Level 2 at Charles Darwin School

Course description

Students will develop an understanding of the health and social care sector, in particular the different types of care settings, job roles, principles and values of care. There is a focus on hands-on practical skills with every unit designed to help prepare for the world of work. Four units are mandatory: preparing to give quality care; communicating with source users in care settings; practical caring; hygiene and safety in care settings. The two optional units that we cover are practical first aid in care settings and nutrition and cooking for health

Entry requirements

5 GCSEs (different subjects)

Future opportunities

this Level 2 course could lead to a variety of Level 3 and then onto Level 4 qualifications in the care industry, e.g. nursing, child care, social care work or a specific field like midwifery, physiotherapyBasic Food hygiene Certificate completed on line Red Cross Emergency Life Support Course Food, Nutrition and Healthy Eating course Certificate on line All coursework and no external exams

Further information

Equivalent to 4 x GCSEs: Distinction = A; Merit=B; Pass=C

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Charles Darwin School directly.

Last updated date: 20 May 2014
Provider logo

Key information