Accessibility links

Performing Arts - DanceBTEC Extended Diploma Level 3 (Nationals) at University Church of England Academy

Course description

Course description
BTEC Extended Diploma in Dance is a practical, work- related course. It is equivalent to 3 ‘A’
The course is made up of 18 units – five core units which do not change and 13 further
specialist units which are selected by staff to design a personalised learning curriculum. The
specialist units enable you to study particular areas in depth.
Course content
The core units consist of Performance Workshop, Rehearsing for Performance, The Performing
Arts Business, Performing to an Audience and the Historical Context of Performance. These are
all compulsory units for any Performing Arts BTEC.
The Specialist units consist of:
- Dance Performance.
- Dance Improvisation.
- The Healthy Performer.
- Contemporary Technique.
- The Freelance World.
- Choreography (two units).
- Physical Theatre (two units).
- Ballet (two units).
- Jazz Dance (two units).
- Developing Movement Skills.
- Movement in Performance.
- Performing Dance.
- Urban Dance.
- Dance Appreciation.
All units are internally assessed and graded, and an overall grade for the qualification is

Entry requirements

- A BTEC or GCSE in Dance / Performing Arts.
- Previous Dance experience.
- Dedication and commitment.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact University Church of England Academy directly.

Last updated date: 17 September 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 1-2 Years