Accessibility links

Health and Social Care BTEC at Tolworth Sixth Form

Course description

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate / Diploma in Health & Social Care qualification for England is designed to provide learners with underpinning knowledge, understanding and skills of the health and social care sectors, providing a broad basis for further or higher education or for moving into employment within the sectors

The new qualification is built on a firm foundation of knowledge and understanding of practitioner roles and values, set within contemporary sector - speci fic contexts. The qualification includes a breadth and depth of learning, including the underpinning of core values within the sectors, in addition to the relationships between contemporary policies and service provision and the impact of financial challenges on service provision in the UK.

Entry requirements

Minimum of 5 GCSEs A* – C including a grade 4 English GCSE


Level 3 Health and Social Care qualifications are assessed through a co mbination of assessment methods. Extended Certificate : 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are external.

Diploma: 8 units of which 6 are mandatory and 3 are external.

The qualifications are designed to be delivered over two years and are designed to be studied alongside GCE A Levels and other level 3 qualifications.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Tolworth Sixth Form directly.

Last updated date: 03 November 2017
Provider logo

Key information