Accessibility links

Health and Social Care BTEC Diploma at Oaks Park High School

Course description

This qualification has been designed as a two-year, full-time study programme for learners who are intending to go on to further study in a related sector. It supports access to a range of higher education courses if taken as part of a programme of study that includes another BTEC or A Level alongside it.
Equivalent in size to two A Levels.

Course content

8 units, of which 6 are mandatory and 3 are external:

  • Unit 1 Human Lifespan Development  (Mandatory; External)
  • Unit 2 Working in Health and Social Care  (Mandatory; External)
  • Unit 5 Enquiries into current research in Health and Social Care  (Mandatory; External)
  • Unit 6  Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs  (Mandatory; Internal)
  • Unit 12  Principles of Safe Practice in Health and Social Care (Mandatory; Internal)
  • Unit 13  Promoting Public Health (Optional; Internal)
  • Unit 7 Work Experience in Health and Social Care (Optional; Internal)
  • Unit 14 Sociological Perspectives (Optional; Internal)
  • Unit 15 Psychological perspectives (Optional; Internal)
  • Unit 16  Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs (Optional; Internal)
  • Unit 18 Physiological Disorders and their Care  (Optional; Internal) 
  • Unit 23 Nutritional Health 

(Mandatory content 83%, External assessment 46%). 

8 units, of which 6 are mandatory and 3 are external.

Entry requirements

BTEC Award in Health and Social Care Merit (if studied) 


External exams, Internal Assignments 

Future opportunities

University Degree:
  • Nursing,
  • Midwifery,
  • Social work etc
Careers in: 
  • Medicine,
  • Health Care,
  • Social Care. 
Work and Manage in: 
  • Registered Care homes 
  • Hospitals and primary care trusts 
  • Nursing homes 
  • Health centres 

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Oaks Park High School directly.

Last updated date: 15 November 2016
Provider logo

Key information