Accessibility links

Physics A level at The Holy Cross School

Course description

A Level Physics equips students with a wide range of academic and practical skills through the study of 6 modules.

  1. Development of practical skills
  2. Foundations of physics
  3. Forces and motion
  4. Electrons, waves and photons
  5. Newtonian world and astrophysics
  6. Particles and medical physics

Entry requirements

GCSE Grade 6 or above in Physics and one other science (GCSE Biology or GCSE Chemistry) or Grade 6:6 or above in GCSE Combined Science.

GCSE Grade 5 or above in Mathematics (higher paper) is essential.

GCSE Grade 6 or above in Mathematics highly recommended.


The A level course is assessed by linear examinations. A Level students are examined on all six modules at the end of Year 13, two papers of 37% each and a synoptic paper of 26% of the total marks. 40% of the question paper assessment covers mathematical skills. In addition, A Level students will be awarded the practical  endorsement certificate after successfully completing practical work set during the two year course.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Holy Cross School directly.

Last updated date: 11 October 2017

Key information