Accessibility links


Course description

ECDL is rapidly becoming the internationally recognised basic computing qualification, with 160,000 candidates in the UK and over a million worldwide. ECDL aims to ensure that all computer users understand the best practices and potential of the different software available on a PC.

The qualification is equivalent to an NVQ Level 2 and is recognised by a number of universities.

ECDL tests your basic competency over a wide range of software. It contains seven modules:

 Module 1: Concepts of Information Technology

 Module 2: Using the computer and managing files

 Module 3: Word processing

 Module 4: Spreadsheets

 Module 5: Database

 Module 6: Presentation

 Module 7: Information and Communication

The course is internet based, with students gaining the required skills through a series of on-line tasks and exercises. All students will have a unique user name and password to access the course materials. These resources can be accessed anytime, anywhere (internet connection permitting) and students can learn at their own pace.

At the end of each module a student will sit an on-line test in school and will obtain instant knowledge of results. As each student will be learning at their own pace, the tests are taken at the individual’s request.

Entry requirements

Students with five or more GCSE passes at grade C or above. These must include English and Mathematics at grade C or above.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Langley Grammar School directly.

Last updated date: 29 May 2014

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years