Accessibility links

IT Cambridge Technical Introductory Diploma at Plymstock School

Course description

The Cambridge Technical syllabus allows students to study at either level 2 or level 3 and also to study for one year or two. At level 2 students will achieve the Extended Certificate after one year and the Diploma after two. At level 3 students will achieve the Certificate after one year and the Introductory Diploma after two. Both of these carry UCAS points. All assessment is through completion of assignments or tasks, supported by written or digital evidence.

Course content

Mandatory Units
  • Communicating in the IT industry
  • Working in the IT industry
  • Communication and employability skills in IT
  • Information systems

Optional Units

  • Installing computer hardware or software
  • Setting up an IT network
  • IT support/fault diagnosis and remedy
  • Website development
  • Computer graphics
  • Multimedia design
  • Developing computer games
  • Animation techniques
  • Computer systems
  • E-Commerce
  • Computer networks
  • IT technical support
  • Developing computer games
  • Website production
  • Computer animation
  • Interactive media authoring
  • IT systems troubleshooting and repair
  • Client side customisation of web pages

Entry requirements

At least 5 A*-C at GCSE (or equivalent). English GCSEs at grade C or above. At least a grade C in ICT GCSE or Computer Science (if studied).

Future opportunities

This course is a good route onto degree courses in IT. It would also prepare students well for a variety of jobs in IT, such as network support, database management, website development.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Plymstock School directly.

Last updated date: 21 September 2016

Key information

  • Start date: Next September