Accessibility links

BTEC National in IT (Level 3) Subsidiary Diploma; Diploma at Godalming College

Course description

There are two BTEC National courses available to choose from according to the degree of specialism, in IT that you wish to follow. These courses are designed to provide a very ‘hands on’ approach to IT and there will be opportunities for work experience.

The Subsidiary Diploma (equivalent to one A level)

The two-year study programme is divided into six units: two core units that provide a basic grounding in IT and four specialist units which can include Computer Games, Website Production, Computer Animation and Digital Graphics. You will have an opportunity to develop your employability skills and communication in IT – via classwork and work experience as well as improving your study, presentation and research skills.

The Diploma (equivalent to two A levels)

Comprising of twelve units, this qualification has three core units in Communications and Employability Skills, Computer Systems and Information Systems. In addition, you will have the opportunity to choose nine specialist units such as Computer Games, Project Planning with IT, Installing and Upgrading Software and Multimedia Design. The full qualification will take two years to complete, although it is designed to ensure that you will cover the units to obtain a Subsidiary Diploma at the end of year one.

Course assessment: All units are internally assessed using practical projects and assignments. Grades of Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction* are awarded which are equivalent to A level grades for university entrance.

Entry requirements

Grade C or above in English and Mathematics.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Godalming College directly.

Last updated date: 07 April 2015
Provider logo

Key information

  • Start date: Next September
  • Duration: 2 years