Accessibility links

Health and Social Care BTEC level 3 Extended Certificate at Oaks Park High School

Course description

A broad basis of study for the health and social care sector. This qualification is designed to support progression to higher education when taken as part of a programme of study that includes other appropriate BTEC Nationals or A Levels. It is equivalent in size to 1 A Level. 

Course content

There are 4 units of which 3 are mandatory and 2 are externally assessed.

  • Unit 1 Human Lifespan Development  (Mandatory; External) 
  • Unit 2  Working in Health and Social Care (Mandatory; External)
  • Unti 6  Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs  (Mandatory; Internal)
  • Unit 14 Sociological perspectives  (Optional; Internal)
  • Unit 15 Psychological perspectives (Optional; Internal) 
  • Unit 16  Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs  (Optional; Internal)
  • Unit 18  Physiological Disorders and their Care (Optional; Internal) 

(Mandatory content 83%, External assessment 58%). 

Entry requirements

BTEC Award in Health and Social Care - Merit (if studied)


External exams, Internal Assignments 

Future opportunities

University Degree: 
  • Nursing,
  • Midwifery,
  • Social work etc 
Careers in:
  • Medicine,
  • Health Care,
  • Social Care. 
Work and Manage in: 
  • Registered Care homes 
  • Hospitals and primary care trusts 
  • Nursing homes  
  • Health centres 

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Oaks Park High School directly.

Last updated date: 15 November 2016
Provider logo

Key information