Accessibility links

IT (Networking and Systems Support) Level 3 Diploma at Northampton College

Course description

The BTEC Level 3 Diploma consists of 7 core units plus specialist units taken in over 2 years. The qualification is recognised by employers in industry, particularly those looking for IT Skills at Level 3.You will study 7 core units plus specialist units. Core units:- Communication and Employability Skills for IT- Computer Systems- Managing Networks- Computer Networks- Communication Technologies- IT Technical Support- Information Systems- IT Systems Troubleshooting and RepairSpecialist units*:- Organisatinal Systems Security- Spreadsheet Modelling- Database Design- Event Driven Programming- Installing and Upgrading Software- Data Analysis and Design- Human Computer Interaction- Maintaining Computer Systems- Digital Graphics and Computers- Developing Computer Games- Network System Security*Specialist units are subject to change.

Course content

Anyone who wants to persue a career in the computer industry as IT Support or progress to Higher Education.

Entry requirements

Four GCSEs at Grade C or above or a BTEC Level 2 in IT at Merit.


A process of continuous assessment will involve unit assignments, class tests and practical work.

Future opportunities

After successful completion of this course you could study a HND or Degree programme or seek employment as the skills gained are relevant to working in the IT and computing sector.

Further information

Students will be required to purchase a USB stick to back up work.Students aged 19 and over on 1st September will be required to pay an exam fee of £160.Trips - £30 (approximately)Resources - £35 (approximately)All of the above costs are compulsory and payable at enrolment.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Northampton College directly.

Last updated date: 11 October 2016
Provider logo

Key information