Accessibility links

Health and Social Care (BTEC Extended Diploma) at The Sixth Form College Solihull

Course description

The course studies a range of units relating to different aspects of health, social care and early years provision.

Course content

Mandatory Units:
* Unit 1: Developing Effective Communication in Health & Social Care – considers theories and interactions with service users. 
* Unit 2: Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health & Social Care – identifies and explores the diversity in society.
* Unit 3: Health, Safety and Security in Health & Social Care – identifies the current legislation and its application within Health and Social Care.
Unit 4: Development through the Life Stages – explores the stages of Human Development. 
Unit 5: Anatomy & Physiology for Health & Social Care – study of the human body and the effects of ill health.
Unit 6: Personal and Professional Development in Health & Social Care (includes 100 hours mandatory vocational experience) – develops through the link to vocational experience the skills needed to work within the Health & Social care sector.
Unit 7: Sociological Perspectives for Health & Social Care – explores the basics of Sociology and how to apply this in the Health & Social care sectors.
Unit 8: Psychological Perspectives for Health & Social Care – explores the basics of Psychology and how to apply this in the Health & Social care sectors.

Other optional units will be selected from the following:
Unit 9: Values & Planning in Social Care 
Unit 10: Caring for Children and Young people – identifies the needs associated with caring for Children
and Young people.
Unit 11: Safeguarding Adults and promoting independence – identifies the requirements of
Safeguarding and how this supports independence.
Unit 12: Public Health – identifies the history of Public health and the Governments input in Public Health.
Unit 14: Physiological Disorders – further develops and extends the knowledge from Anatomy & Physiology and the Health needs.
Unit 20: Promoting Health Education – develop campaigns linked to Health Education.
Unit 21: Nutrition for Health and Social care – considers the nutritional needs for a range of people
identifying specific needs.
Unit 22: Research Methodology for Health & Social Care – explore Research linked to Health & Social care and how this is applied within the sectors.
Unit 25: Coping with Change in a Health & Social Care context – explore the nature of self-concept and the way change can impact on this.
Unit 26: Caring for Individuals with Additional needs – identifies the needs associated with caring for an individual with Additional needs.
Unit 27: Dealing with Challenge Behaviour
Unit 28: Caring for Older people – identifies the needs associated with caring for Older people.
Unit 40: Dementia Care
Unit 45: Independent learning in Health & Social Care

Entry requirements

BTEC Extended Diploma or CACHE Diploma:

BTEC Extended Diploma and CACHE Diploma courses are equivalent to studying 3 A levels, so have the same entry requirements as for A level. The only difference is that other courses equivalent to GCSE (e.g. BTEC First Diplomas and OCR Nationals) count towards entry requirements for BTEC/CACHE, while only GCSEs count for an A level programme. You need:

• At least two grade 6s or B grades at GCSE or merit on an equivalent course
• At least a further three grade 4s or C grades at GCSE or equivalent
• On BTECs you should have at least a grade 4 or C grade in GCSE English Language or Mathematics, with at least a grade 3 or D grade in the other one. If you do have a grade 3 or D in one of these two key subjects, you will be required to re-take this GCSE in addition to your BTEC Diploma. CACHE requires a grade C or 4 in English, Mathematics AND preferably Science.

Please note that there may be additional entry requirements specific to particular courses – please check each course listing on our website carefully to ensure you understand these entry requirements.

Standard BTEC entry requirements apply. A clear DBS ‘Disclosure and Barring Service’, due to the Vocational aspect of the qualification and the requirement to undertake vocational experience, is also needed. The cost of the DBS is approximately £60.00 and you are responsible for this payment (details of how to pay will follow in September).


Coursework (100%)
No Examination
Examining Board – Edexcel.
Each of the units will be assessed by 3 or 4 pieces of course work. The coursework will be handed in as each unit progresses. There will be an expectation to combine theory with practice. This 18 unit qualification is the equivalent of three full A Levels. Grades are awarded on Pass, Merit, Distinction and Distinction*.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact The Sixth Form College Solihull directly.

Last updated date: 26 September 2017
Provider logo

Key information