Accessibility links

IT BTEC level 3 National Extended Certificate at Park View Community School

Course description

The Pearson BTEC level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology is intended as an Applied General qualification covering 350 GLH and equivalent in size to one A level.

It is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT. Learners will develop a common core of IT knowledge and study areas such as the relationship between the hardware and software that form an IT system, managing and processing data to support business and using IT to communicate and share information.

Course content

The objective of this qualification is to give learners the opportunity to develop their knowledge and skills in IT systems, systems management and social media in business.

Learners will study three mandatory units:

  • Unit 1: Information Technology Systems (synoptic)
  • Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information
  • Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

This qualification includes a final optional unit, including:

  • Unit 6: Website Development

Entry requirements

C grade minimum in IT/pass in English Language

Future opportunities

Further education in IT linked courses or roles in IT.

Many jobs use IT as a basis in the modern working world, and IT will be useful to all professions.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Park View Community School directly.

Last updated date: 06 January 2017

Key information