Accessibility links

ICT Level 3 Double Diploma at Harris Academy South Norwood

Course description

Cambridge Technical Diploma in IT

  • 720 Guided Learning Hours (GLH) – equivalent to two A levels in terms of size.
  • 2 x 90 Guided Learning Hours units and 9 x 60 Guided Learning Hours units – at least three externally examined units and a choice of centre-assessed units that we moderate.

Course content

These unit are provisional and subject to change

  • Fundamentals of IT
  • Global Information
  • Cyber Security
  • Virtual and Augmented Reality
  • Application Design
  • Project Management
  • Product Development

Entry requirements

Students should have GCSE or BTEC Level 2 pass or a grade C or above, in ICT or Computing, to take up this qualification.


There are three mandatory units that are externally assessed. These are the Fundamentals of IT, Global Information and Cyber Security. The first two mandatory units provide learners with an insight into the IT sector as you investigate the pace of technological change, IT infrastructure, and the flow of information on a global scale and important legal and security considerations. The third mandatory unit reflects an important development in the sector around information security and requires learners to consider how data should be protected and the response of the IT sector to emerging threats such as cyber terrorism.

Learners must then take two of the four optional units that are centre-assessed and moderated by OCR. The optional units include Project Management, Product Development, Systems Analysis and Design and the Internet of Everything.

 All units assist the development of transferrable skills such as communication and problem solving. The optional units encourage the development of time management, research and analytical skills as well as emphasising the need for good written and verbal communication skills.

Future opportunities

Achievement of this qualification can support progression to go on and study relevant IT degrees in a Higher Education institution such as, Computing and IT, Computing Science, Software Developments, Software Engineering, ICT and Computer Networks or Business Information Systems.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Harris Academy South Norwood directly.

Last updated date: 07 April 2017
Provider logo

Key information