Accessibility links

IT BTEC National Extended Certificate at Holly Lodge 11-19 Science College

Course description

The objective of this qualification is to give students the opportunity to develop their knowledge and skills in IT systems, systems management and social media in business.

Course content

Students will study three mandatory units:

  • Unit 1: Information Technology Systems (synoptic)
  • Unit 2: Creating Systems to Manage Information
  • Unit 3: Using Social Media in Business

They must also study two optional units eg

  • Unit 5: Data Modelling
  • Unit 6: Website Development

Entry requirements

Students will need to achieve a merit or above in BTEC First Award in ICT or grade C or above in GCSE Computer Science.


Assessment is specifically designed to fit the purpose and objectives of the qualification. It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in this sector. There are three main forms of assessment: external, internal and synoptic.

Future opportunities

This qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as meeting admission requirements for many relevant courses. The qualification supports entry to, for example:

  • HND in Engineering
  • BSc (Hons) in Information Management for Business
  • BA (Hons) in Accounting and Finance

Some university courses may require the achievement of specific units and students should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes with specific higher education providers before enrolling on this course.

How to apply

If you want to apply for this course, you will need to contact Holly Lodge 11-19 Science College directly.

Last updated date: 16 December 2016
Provider logo

Key information